Counting TABs in a line

Counting TABs in a line

Jan 31, 2007#1

I'd like to create a macro to count tabs in each line of a text file. If the line has 4 tabs (desired), the macro goes to the next line w/o marking. If the line has more or fewer than 4 tabs, the macro marks the line (say "***" at the end of the line) and moves on.

I've only written a couple of UE macros -- I have some VBA macro experience w/ M$ eXcel and word, but I used to write a lot of macros for WP4.0, 5.1, and 6.x > for Win. Dang, I miss PerfectScript.

Peace,
    - Sequoia

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jan 31, 2007#2

The following macro should to the job. It is designed to run on a DOS file (^p = CRLF). It first checks if the last line of the file as a line termination and if not, it appends one.

Next it converts the character » at start of every line to a special string because the » is later used to mark the lines which have exactly 4 tabs.

The next 2 regular expressions inserts at start of every line which has exactly 4 tabs the marker character ».

The fourth regular expression marks now all lines without the marker character » at start of the line with "***" at the end of the line as requested.

Next the marker character » at start of every line is removed and last the special escape string is converted back to character ». You can remove first and last regular expression find and replace all if your file never contains the character » at start of a line.

The macro property Continue if a Find with Replace not found must be checked for this macro.

InsertMode
      ColumnModeOff
      HexOff
      UnixReOff
      Bottom
      IfColNum 1
      Else
      "
      "
      EndIf
      Find RegExp "%»"
      Replace All "MaRkErChAr"
      Find RegExp "%^([~^t^p]++^t[~^t^p]++^t[~^t^p]++^t[~^t^p]++^t^)$"
      Replace All "»^1"
      Find RegExp "%^([~^t^p]++^t[~^t^p]++^t[~^t^p]++^t[~^t^p]++^t[~^t^p]+^)$"
      Replace All "»^1"
      Find RegExp "%^([~»]*^)$"
      Replace All "^1***"