Why wont right click clear history???

Why wont right click clear history???

NewbieNewbie

Aug 04, 2006#1

The windows right click to select for comparing??? is there a reason it not cleared of selection??

Or at least second select to null it !!! please

It so annoying to load old files that u have already compared and deleted

Or is there an option that i missed ?? :D

Grand MasterGrand Master

Aug 05, 2006#2

I'm not a Windows programmer so I can only guess that there is no possibility for UltraCompare to force the Windows Explorer to unselect the current selection. But you can simply press key F5 (= View - Refresh) in Windows Explorer to force a directory reread which also unselects everything.
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

MasterMaster

Aug 07, 2006#3

F5 doesn't clear the "to be compared" selections in the context menu, at least not on my XP machine. However, after a compare action (compare any two/three files, close UC), the context menu is cleared.

Still, it would be a nice touch to have the option to clear the context menu for UC manually...I have already contacted support about this, and they said they'd look into it...

Cheers,
        Tim

Grand MasterGrand Master

Aug 07, 2006#4

Ah, now I have understand what's the problem, thanks Tim.

Yes, you are right. When closing all files in UltraCompare also the "Load in ..." entries in the context menu should be cleared automatically and a manual clear item within the context menu for the "Load in ..." entries would be also really helpful for Windows Explorer users.

I personally use Total Commander and have integrated UltraCompare into its toolbar with appropriate parameters. So it was new for me how the context menu really works and "chas" has not explained enough what is his problem.

NewbieNewbie

Jul 28, 2007#5

This has been driving me crazy, almost enough to go back to using Beyond Compare...until I figured out how to get around this.