Filter lines in large file based on variable criteria

Filter lines in large file based on variable criteria

Basic UserBasic User

Oct 06, 2008#1

Hi guys, I'm really new in this, I hope somebody help me.

There are lists within a document that contain many of the 33 different "Types" of products, but not all of them.
    I need a kind of "filter" to extract only the number located between the strings "LIST:NUMBER=" and ",TYPES="
    for all lines within a specific "Type" look up.

I have the follow pattern in a large text file (256MB about in size and 2.5 million lines more or less).

*******************************************************************************************************
    SALE:NUMBER=12345678910:TYPE=XXXXX
    LIST:NUMBER=12345678910,TYPES=Type1-1&Type2-10&Type4-2&Type5-1&...&Type31-1&Type32-0&Type33-0

SALE:NUMBER=56734520957:TYPE=XXXXX
    LIST:NUMBER=56734520957,TYPES=Type1-1&Type3-1&Type4-2&Type5-1&...&Type31-1&Type32-0&Type33-0

SALE:NUMBER=77834002759:TYPE=XXXXX
    LIST:NUMBER=77834002759,TYPES=Type1-1&Type2-10&Type4-2&Type5-1&...&Type31-1&Type32-0
    more or less 2 million lines after
    SALE:NUMBER=23111109385:TYPE=XXXXX
    LIST:NUMBER=23111109385,TYPES=Type1-1&Type2-10&Type3-1&Type4-2&Type5-1&...&Type31-1&Type32-0&Type33-0
    *******************************************************************************************************
    What I need by examples;

Example 1:
    If I want to filter for "Type2-10", the answer would be, in a new file, as follow:

Example 2:
    If I want to filter for "Type3-1" and "Type4-2", the answer would be, in a new file, as follow:

I made a macro that does a filter, but copies the complete line for every match and not only the number
    between the strings like I said before.

Questions:
    1) I don't know how to say the macro extract in a new file only the numbers between the strings explained above for every match found.