Sort feature - removing duplicates if only line parts are identical

Sort feature - removing duplicates if only line parts are identical

NewbieNewbie

Jul 15, 2008#1

For several years now I have suggested a change to UltraEdit sort feature. Sort allows the removal of duplicate records but it only considers a full record match. It would be far more useful if the exclusion of duplicates could be made based on the sort key criteria.

Does anyone else see this as a useful enhancement? I have been asking IDM for several years now but they have not implemented. Perhaps if there was an interest among the user community this could get done.

Thanks
    Dan

MasterMaster

Jul 15, 2008#2

I think that's something you could easily do in a macro (doing a sort and then a regex-search/replace to weed out duplicates in whatever way you choose) or a script (prompting the user for input as to which "rules" should apply for duplicate removal). Do you have an example of what you're trying to do?

NewbieNewbie

Jul 15, 2008#3

I work with many different files and depending on the analysis I am doing, I may wish to remove dupes based on different columns. Currently I am using SAS to remove dupes. To me the implementation currently in UE is useless and would love to see it changed. UE is a great tool and I would like to stay in one environment rather than bounce between programs.

Advanced UserAdvanced User

Jul 16, 2008#4

I agree about having sort options that allow you to pick criteria and use that criteria to eliminate dups.

NewbieNewbie

Oct 15, 2008#5