Regex to find lines with x number of blanks

Regex to find lines with x number of blanks

Basic UserBasic User

Jan 19, 2010#1

Hello,
    I am a newbie to regex and would like to a regex which will enable me to find specific number of blank spaces on a line.
    I have UTF data in Hindi which has 2-3-4-5-6 words on the same line separated by blanks e.g.
    a b
    a b c
    a b c d
    a b c d e
    where a,b,c,d,e and so on stand for words.
    I would like to write a regex which could help me find say lines having only one space or two spaces or three spaces and so on.
    I have gone through the regex queries and find nothing which meets my need. Any help would be welcome.
    I tried a regex like

Code: Select all

. *
    but I got weird results.
    All help will be gratefully acknowledged,
    Best regards,
    Dictionary doctor

MasterMaster

Jan 19, 2010#2

From the top of my head, I'd suggest the following Perl regex:

^([^\s]* ){5}[^\s]*$

^ matches the start of the line
      ([^\s]* ) matches zero or more non-space/non-tab/non-CRLF characters, followed by exactly one space character
      {5} repeats this pattern 5 times - so if you want to match lines with exactly 3 spaces, write a 3 here instead of 5.
      [^\s]* matches zero or more non-space/non-tab/non-CRLF characters
      $ matches the end of the line

HTH,
      Tim

Basic UserBasic User

Jan 23, 2010#3

Hello,
        This is in continuation of my earlier query re. regex where I wanted to know the answer to finding the occurrence of two regular expression types within a line.
        I also have in the dictionary IPA (phonetic representations) represented by /IPA/.
        How do I handle a slash in the perl regex given?
        I have tried all tricks and nothing seems to work.
        Best regards,
        And many thanks in advance.

Dictionary Doctor

MasterMaster

Jan 23, 2010#4