Url & Email highlighting

Url & Email highlighting

NewbieNewbie

Aug 06, 2006#1

Hi, is it possible with UltraEdit to highlight url and email addresses on HTML & plain text files as View64 (text viewer) does on this example
    Thanks.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Aug 07, 2006#2

Not really. If the characters /~.#@:&; are NOT delimiters you can use

** ftp http mailto www

to highlight all strings starting with one of these substrings. But you cannot specify a regular expression to highlight URLs and email addresses.
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

NewbieNewbie

Aug 07, 2006#3

Thanks! I'm a newbie in syntax highlighting but I was able to highlight sentences that start with "ftp http mailto www".

But now the problem is that I need to highlight Email addresses, if it isn't possible to highlight a word that contain @, is it possible for example with [email protected] to highlight only @gmail.com or at least @ symbol?

Thanks again.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Aug 07, 2006#4

It's not possible to highlight a string which contains @ anywhere in the middle.

You can highlight the first part of the domain name with the @ before with the help of marker characters:

/Marker Characters = "@."
          /C2"email addresses"
          @.

That would for example result in @gmail.com.

Also possible is the whole domain name, if there is always a space after the address.

/Marker Characters = "@space"
          /C2"email addresses"
          @space

space is here only a place holder for a singe normal space.

That would for example result in @gmail.com if there is a space following .com or only @gmail.com if no space is following (i.e. line end).

The CR or LF byte cannot be specified as end of marker string.

To get this marker string to work, @ must be in the list of delimiters which of course has a bad effect on the substring highlighting of mailto except you define both at the same color group.

/Marker Characters = "@space"