Configuration for using UEStudio with WinAVR

Configuration for using UEStudio with WinAVR

NewbieNewbie

Jul 11, 2010#1

Hi everyone!

I'm new to UEStudio, I really like it, unfortunately my knowledge is little about UES. I wanted to use UES to compile programs for ATmega instead of AVRStudio. So I need help on how to configure the project to compile and debug with UEStudio. Any help is welcome.

Regards

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jul 12, 2010#2

UEStudio is installed with a WinAVR application configuration which you can use for your AVR programs. Just use the WinAVR compiler for your project and set the compiler options to your needs. You may need to adapt the compiler configuration template by making a local copy and edit some lines in the compiler configuration.

Debugging could be very difficult if not at all completely impossible from within UEStudio because debugging ATmega controllers is in-circuit debugging and as far as I know there is no stand-alone debugger available for the ATmega series. So for debugging you might need to use AVRStudio.

Programming the ATmega after successful compilation can be done definitely from within UEStudio. How depends on the hardware and tools you use. For example AVRDude installed with WinAVR or installed separately could be executed by UEStudio automatically after a successful build or manually by you to program the code and data into flash and eeprom of the Atmel AVR controller.