ASCII value of cursor position in status bar / customizing status bar?

ASCII value of cursor position in status bar / customizing status bar?

Dec 13, 2009#1

Hi, I am new to UE forum.

So, please, be patient if this has been asked before although I have done some research and could't find anything specific (forum and FAQ).

I have tried UE for a while now and this is sure one of the strongest and feature-laden editors I have met.

Having that said I recently had a problem that would have required the display of the ASCII-value of the character under the cursor position. So I looked in the status line where I would have expected to find it, then everywhere else, but... nothing! ..zip! ..nada!

So I went to the configuration menu and had a deep look in order to find where to turn it on. Again, in vain, I have to say.

Since this is a feature _so basic_ that most of the ancient DOS editors had it, I simply couldn't believe there should be no way to turn that on in UE. There is an ASCII-table but all you can do is scroll in there, it doesn't seem to be correlated to the character under the cursor at all. Also I have found how to customize toolbars but seemingly this is not possible for the status-bar that shows some information as cut off in my case. I am using WinXP_sp3 with 1920*1200 resolution and most status fields are cluttered_up in the lower right corner with the date/time-field cut off and 2/3 of the bar (on the left side) empty.

Q: can those status-fields be re-arranged somehow?

Q: is it really not possible to get the ASCII-value of the cursor position displayed somehow? (I managed to circumvent the problem in the meantime by switching to HEX-View and converting the HEX-Value to decimal, but I would prefer constant ASCII-Value-display of the cursor position in Text-mode).

Hope someone can help, greetings,
    George

Grand MasterGrand Master

Dec 13, 2009#2

abracadabra wrote:Q: Can those status fields be re-arranged somehow?