Template bug with 17.10.0.1015 - [FILE_NAME] inserts file extension as well (fixed)

Template bug with 17.10.0.1015 - [FILE_NAME] inserts file extension as well (fixed)

Aug 31, 2011#1

I'm a DBA and I've been using UE for about a decade now. For most of that time I've used the Template feature to create headers for my SQL Scripts. After upgrading recently to 17.10.0.1015 one of the Template standards, [FILE_NAME] stopped working properly. Instead of displaying just the "root" of a file's name like it always had, it started including the file's extension.

For example, say I have a file called SQLDocumentor.sql and a Template called SQLHdr (see example below). One of the Template special strings I use in that header is [FILE_NAME]. When the template is executed [FILE_NAME] should translate to "SQLDocumentor" only. That's been the result for years now. Instead, with this version, [FILE_NAME] is returning SQLDocumentor.sql.

Is this by design? If so, how do I downgrade?

Here's that Header Template:

/******
    [FILE_NAME]
    Create Date: [DATE_USER]MM'/'dd'/'yyyy[DATE_USER_END] [TIME_USER]hh':'mm':'ss tt[TIME_USER_END]
    Last Update: [DATE_USER]MM'/'dd'/'yyyy[DATE_USER_END] [TIME_USER]hh':'mm':'ss tt[TIME_USER_END]

Desc:

[FULL_FILE_NAME]
    ******/
    set nocount on
    DECLARE @fileDateShort nvarchar(20)
    DECLARE @instance nvarchar(100)
    SELECT @fileDateShort = replace(convert(varchar, getdate(),101),'/','-')
    SELECT @instance = case
    when CONVERT(varchar(50),SERVERPROPERTY('InstanceName')) is NULL
    then @@SERVERNAME
    else CONVERT(varchar(50),SERVERPROPERTY('InstanceName'))
    END

PRINT 'Instance name: ' + @instance + CHAR(10) +
    'Current Database: ' + db_name() + CHAR(10) +
    'C:\Logs\' + @instance + '-[FILE_NAME]-' + @fileDateShort + '.log' + CHAR(10) +
    'DATE/TIME: ' + CONVERT(varchar, GETDATE(),120) + CHAR(13) ;
    set nocount off
    GO