NewbieNewbie

Mar 15, 2012#31

billdehaan has hit the nail on the head as to what my needs are.

Thanks everyone for you comments. I had thought of replacing my reliance on KEDIT, since Mansfield has announced it will discontinue business at the end of the year.

UES is a powerful tool for what it does, but I need the power KEDIT brings to the type of problems I face in manipulating very large data files very quickly.

Anyway I have had KEDIT for 25+ years and never required a call/email to technical support. How many programs are almost 30 years old and only on release 1.6 and still have a wide following.

Thanks all again, John

NewbieNewbie

Mar 15, 2012#32

Wow, MickRC3, you certainly had it easy. When I started programming in college in 1962, we had to break our jobs into sections because the computer was slow AND the MTBF (mean time between failure) of the hardware was much shorter than the time it took to run the job. So we would run each section of the job, in order. If a failure occurred in a section we could run that section again until it was completed - then repeat with the next section until the whole job was successfully completed.

A different system used Williams tube memory (basically a CRT) for temporary storage of data by a job. It had a whopping 1024 BITS of storage available.