Replace spaces within a string value of an attribute of an XML tag

Replace spaces within a string value of an attribute of an XML tag

NewbieNewbie

May 05, 2012#1

Hello,

this is my first post here. I've been using UltraEdit for quite a while but I'm only beginning scripting and I kinda struggle (don't know js either).
    However I want to give it a good shot because I think it would help me a lot with work, replacing some software I write in C#.
    I'm using Version 17.30.0.1014.

So my problem is the following: I have a xml file that looks like that:

Code: Select all

<package name="TEE_TimeArithm_API" version="v1.7" date="2012-04-21">
        <initial-state name="Internal_API_Time_Arithm">
            <!--Targeted operation: FinalizeContext-->
            <scenario name="Invoke_BigIntCmpS32_op strictly lesser than shortval_size 32 bits_two negative values (ce-ef-9e)" destructive="yes">
                <req name="BIG_INT_CMP_32" />
    The node scenario may have a name attribute that contains " " (space). I need to replace them with "_".
    There are quite a lot of nodes impacted.

The result I look for is the same file with

<scenario name="Invoke_BigIntCmpS32_op_strictly_lesser_than_shortval_size_32_bits_two_negative_values_(ce-ef-9e)" destructive="yes">
    I've started with that code to find the first occurrence:

var regex = "<scenario name=(.*) destructive"; //Perl regular expression to find title string

// Start at the beginning of the file
    UltraEdit.activeDocument.top();

// Turn on regular expressions
    UltraEdit.activeDocument.findReplace.regExp = true;
    // Find it
    UltraEdit.activeDocument.findReplace.find(regex);

var reg = new RegExp(" ", "g");

// Load it into a selection
    var titl = UltraEdit.activeDocument.selection;

titl = titl.substring(16, titl.lastIndexOf("destructive") - 2);

var reptitl = titl.replace(reg, "_");
    If I print the variable reptitl I see the job has been done.

But then I don't know how: