Extract data from different xml tags to make a new one

Extract data from different xml tags to make a new one

NewbieNewbie

May 15, 2012#1

Hello,
    I'm a beginner UltraEdit user and I'd like to share a doubt I have writing a script. I'm using UltraEdit 16.30.0.1003 version.
    This script does massive changes in a folder that contains a lot of XML files. The changes I've made at the moment are simple like:

Code: Select all

UltraEdit.frInFiles.replace("<bookin>", "<booking>");
    or

UltraEdit.frInFiles.replace("<booking>We assume", "<booking>We have");
    I also do another changes that I've made using prompt function like:

var cust = UltraEdit.getString("Please Enter a customer id:",1);
    I'd like to know if I can made a replace in an XML tag using the content I find at another ones. For example, I would like to set the content of a new tag <owner></owner> using the content I find in the tags <firstname> and <lastname>.

For example, if i have following tags:

<firstname>John</firstname>
    	<lastname>Spencer</lastname>
    I want to append a new tag <owner> with the concatenation of these tags:

<firstname>John</firstname>
    	<lastname>Spencer</lastname>
    	<owner>John Spencer</owner>
    But I don't know how to extract this data to concatenate it.

My script starts as follows:

UltraEdit.ueReOn();
    	UltraEdit.outputWindow.showWindow(true);
    	UltraEdit.frInFiles.matchCase = true;
    	UltraEdit.frInFiles.matchWord = false;
    	UltraEdit.frInFiles.regExp = true;
    	UltraEdit.frInFiles.useOutputWindow = true;
    	UltraEdit.frInFiles.logChanges = true;
    	UltraEdit.frInFiles.unicodeSearch = false;
    	UltraEdit.frInFiles.directoryStart = "C:\\amd\\";
    	UltraEdit.frInFiles.searchInFilesTypes = "*.XML";
    	//multiple replace statements in the way I've displayed above...
    Thank you very much for your comments and sorry for my beginner doubt.
    Greetings

Grand MasterGrand Master

May 15, 2012#2