UE v20.00 unable to handle 1.71 GB file in clipboard - Out of Memory

UE v20.00 unable to handle 1.71 GB file in clipboard - Out of Memory

NewbieNewbie

Sep 13, 2013#1

I upgraded to UE v20.00 and finding it to be far less useful than version 19.xx when handling large files. Any attempts to cut and paste large chunks of data result in Out of Memory errors making more like a reader than an editor. Is anyone else experiencing this issue with UE v20.00?

MasterMaster

Sep 13, 2013#2

I loaded a 4.3 GB file, selected about 1/3 of it, and attempted a Ctrl-C copy command. I got a message dialog stating, "Cannot allocate memory."

UE is a 32-bit program. Perhaps I need to try this in a smaller portion, and not select more than 2 GB, since a 32-bit program cannot access more than 2 GB in general. EDIT: Okay, tried a 750 MB copy, and it couldn't handle that either. Lame. I honestly don't know how previous versions handle this, as I've never tried it before.

I do wish though, that for these reasons, that IDM made a 64-bit version of UE and UES. This is the reason I don't edit large files, because I don't feel UE handles them as well as it should, and I have a 64-bit text editor that will. The other editor just doesn't have the feature set that I would want for an editor, but it was free, so I can use it in those rare cases. I'm more likely to use hex editing for large files, though.

If they do ever make a 64-bit version, I'd also like to see it be able to use a temp file only if a file will not fit in 1/3 the available memory (so as to leave room to copy the entire file on more than one clipboard.)

Grand MasterGrand Master

Sep 14, 2013#3