I have to type characters twice in the editor (solved)

I have to type characters twice in the editor (solved)

Jun 05, 2014#1

Hello all,

I have the oddest issue, I am required to type every character twice to get the text to show up properly.

So, if I type "This" I get "hs"

I am running UEX Version 4.0.2.5 under Ubuntu server 14.04 LTS - 64-bit

Please don't hit me for installing gnome on a server :)

This was not an issue when I first installed UEX. So I am under the impression that I have fumbled some key combo to make this happen.

I have been using UE under Windows for over 10 years and I have never seen this issue pop up.

I attempted a few things to correct the issue but had no luck.

Has anyone seen this issue before?

Thank you in advance.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jun 06, 2014#2

Do you have tried resetting the key mapping of UEX by opening Preferences - Key Mapping and clicking on button Defaults?

Further I suggest to check the hotkeys of scripts and macros.

Last check which keyboard is configured for input.
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

Jun 13, 2014#3

Hi Mofi

Ya know. Those simple solutions are the embarrassing ones :)
        Somehow I changed the keyboard config, or at least resetting it fixed the issue.

I should have thought of that.

Thank you.

Re: I have to type characters twice in the editor (not solved)

Aug 27, 2014#4

Hi folks,

I experience the same problem on Lubuntu 14.04 (Trusty Tahr) x86 with LXDE and UEX 4.2.0.11. I have to type characters twice to get them written down. Resetting the Key Mapping to Defaults did not work for me!

When I run uex as root (gksu uex), the problem disappears, but this is no good solution for me. I tried deleting the .idm folder in my home directory, but also did not work. I also disabled my lxde shortcuts, but that also did not help.

I'm looking forward to any suggestions.

Kind regards,
          Mike

Grand MasterGrand Master

Aug 27, 2014#5