How to create a new macro instead of adding a new macro to the existing and loaded .mac file

How to create a new macro instead of adding a new macro to the existing and loaded .mac file

Basic UserBasic User

Sep 09, 2014#1

PLATFORM: UEStudio 14.xx,

Q: How can I create a new macro such that when the macro creation is done (after I have selected MACRO>>STOP RECORDING from the menus) I have a new '.mac' file that contains a single macro?

When I go to record a new macro the only options I have is to cancel the action or let it save the macro within the already loaded '.mac' file; the file type that UEStudio and UltraEdit uses to store 1 or more macros. I've been using UEStudio for over 5 years now and I have deliberately stayed away from using the macro feature ( except for 2 macros I need for my job ) and I'd like to start using macros more, but I need for each '.mac' file to be a single macro and so far I don't see how that is possible. I know you can have different '.mac' files because there is a menu option within the MACRO menu to load a different '.mac' file, but there is no menu option/command I can find that lets you create a new macro in a new '.mac' file.

UEStudio and UltraEdit use '.mac' files to store macros and each '.mac' file consist of 1 or more uniquely named macros. I find this way of managing macros to be very confusing. I can certainly see the need and benefit of having a way to execute one or more macros in a specified order via a single click or key stroke/command however I would think that would be done by combining each macro or '.mac' file into a macro batch that could either be a different file type or a '.mac' file that instead of having code for a macro has 1 or more other '.mac' files listed.

Thanks

Power UserPower User

Sep 09, 2014#2