Jan 19, 2011#16

Ok, I have tried to move this a step forward. I have created a small tool similar to the tool mentioned above with SPSS. It's a small command line that will shovel commands to and from R using the socket server.

Executable is located at
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10592797/send.zip

The git repository with README is located at
    https://github.com/randomjohn/Ultraedit-to-R
    (If you get the executable above you do not have to download the source or compile it.)

There are a lot of rough edges, as I am only a hobbyist at best when it comes to C programming (and especially this type of programming -- I basically ripped off the winsock tutorial at MSDN), but hopefully this represents a step forward in this issue. It is also not for the faint at heart - to get the best use out of this you need to understand custom tools, macros, and scripting. As for setting up things on the R end, it is really not that hard. You will need the svSocket package, which is easily installed. Then you issue the commands
    library(svSocket)
    startSocketServer()
    in R, and then you can minimize the program. Then you set up a tool as described in the readme (visit the github site for the README, please!) and then can create macros and scripts to call the tool as needed. Things will not echo on the R end as you would expect coming from Tinn-R, but maybe someone enterprising can write a function to do that in R.

Jan 19, 2011#17

And of course I'm already finding bugs, or, rather, what I suspect is some lack of sophistication in the programming. Looks like I need to put in some options to wait for a response, as things that do not return immediate response do not get their results shown.

Long story short, this is bleeding edge. Use at your own risk.

[Update: I fixed the tool to fix the bugs and add a configurable delay.]

Mar 27, 2011#18

I have found what I think is a superior solution, though it shows the output in R rather than Ultraedit.