Search and Delete text between two different words

Search and Delete text between two different words

NewbieNewbie

May 21, 2009#1

I'm new to UltraEdit and I'm using v14.20. I have been through the many help files and forum comments and cannot solve my search problem.

I'm trying to search a large text doc and delete text between word1 and word2. In other words, I want to highlight and delete all of the text starting at word1 and ending at word2, including the searched words (word1, word2). I have to do this many times in the document. So, I think a recursive routine would be helpful if that's possible. Otherwise, I think a macro that I invoke multiple times to complete the tasks would help.

Any ideas?

Max

MasterMaster

May 21, 2009#2

This sounds like you don't need a macro at all - just one single search and replace routine, using a Perl regular expression.

Open the "Replace" dialog, check the check box "Regular Expressions" and set the radio button "Perl regular expression" in the "Advanced" section of that dialog. Then search for

(?s)\bword1\b.*?\bword2\b

and replace all with nothing.

Caution: This fails if word1/word2 pairs can be nested, e. g. "word1 text text word1 text text word2 text text word2".

Also caution if your word1/word2 contains characters that are special to regular expressions like .*[]\+? and a few others. In that case, please be more specific about your exact words.

Explanation:

(?s) allows searches to span multiple lines, i.e. dot matches also newline characters.

\b matches a word boundary, so if your word1 is cat, only cat will match and not advocate.

. matches any character including newlines, thanks to (?s) at beginning of search string.

* allows for any number of matches (including zero).