Ctrl+0-9 to activate file tab 1 - 10 (solved)

Ctrl+0-9 to activate file tab 1 - 10 (solved)

Basic UserBasic User

Jul 12, 2009#1

Hi,

if you use Firefox you might be familiar with the CTRL+1, CTRL+2 etc to activate the first, second etc tab.

In UE 14 I had made a AHK (Autohotkey) script to do exactly the same, but in UE15 the script broke and it is not longer possible (to my knowledge) to do in AHK due the changes in UE15.

I wonder if there is a script that does the same as with Firefox. If you have more than two files open it is a great timesaver to be able to jump to the first 1 (first file) or 5th one. It saves you the hassles of mutiple ctrl-(shift)-tabbing.

Or I'm missing some "hidden" feature that already makes this possible?

Thanks in advance! (I have no knowledge of UE scripting)

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jul 12, 2009#2

If you want to activate a document directly with a hotkey, you can do this by writing scripts and assign the hotkeys to the scripts. The script code is quite simple. Here is the example for activating document 3.

if( UltraEdit.document.length >= 3 ) UltraEdit.document[2].setActive();

You need 10 scripts each having just 1 line.
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

Basic UserBasic User

Jul 13, 2009#3

Thanks, it works but not too well. You must release the CTRL key before you can switch to another document. So CTRL-1-3-5 to switch between 1 3 and 5 is not possible (without releasing CTRL). Should be standard feature IMHO (configurable).

Basic UserBasic User

Jul 13, 2009#4