touch macro - update last modification file time without file contents modification

touch macro - update last modification file time without file contents modification

Jun 14, 2017#1

HELP! I cannot find a way to write an UE macro that functions like the Unix touch command. I want to assign this macro to a key. (The Unix touch command updates the date modified time stamp of a file.) This need was induced because UE does not save the current file if it has not been modified. I am a Windows 10 user of UE. I am new to UE.

I have tried various uses of SaveAs. Example: CopyFilePath --> SaveAs "^c". I get a message "CTags file does not exist. Please check CTAGS options." To say this message is opaque would be vast understatement. Besides, even if this worked I am worried that there would be a pesky dialog about "file already exists", which would not be acceptable.

Thanks for any help.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jun 14, 2017#2

Which version of UltraEdit do you use?

I tested the following macro with UE v24.10.0.24 on Windows 7 and v22.20.0.49 on Windows XP:

Code: Select all

CopyFilePath
      SaveAs "^c"
      The file name of active file was C:\Temp\Test.tmp. On every execution of the macro by hotkey the last modification time of the file was updated and no prompt was shown. The prompt is only displayed on manual execution of Save As and a file with that name exists already.

Better would be using this code with copying file name with path into user clipboard 9 and restore unmodified Windows clipboard before exiting macro.

Code: Select all

Clipboard 9
      CopyFilePath
      SaveAs "^c"
      ClearClipboard
      Clipboard 0
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

Jun 14, 2017#3

Thanks so much! The version of UE is 23.20. I cannot figure out how to be more specific about version.

I copied your code and no success. Does it have anything to do with assigning the key as F11?

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jun 14, 2017#4