Any way to create shortcut for FTP/SFTP linked file upload?

Any way to create shortcut for FTP/SFTP linked file upload?

NewbieNewbie

Apr 02, 2007#1

Hi!

I'm new to UltraEdit and am loving what I'm seeing thus far. I've been long searching for an application like this, and want it to work for me.

One thing that is aggravating me (albeit a very small thing) is that there is no shortcut to save the current file remotely to its remote equivalent. In other words, I have created a project whose folders are linked to an FTP account, and would like a shortcut that allows me to save the current file to the remote account. The only way I see to do this now is to right-click the file in the project view and go "upload to server." This isn't so bad unless you're doing it hundreds of times a day (which I am). Is there a way to make a shortcut for this?

Thanks!

Matt

Power UserPower User

Apr 03, 2007#2

Hi impostal22,

you can modify your toolbar throught the Advanced/Configuration/Toolbars Menus dialog to add the buttons to it for the FTP open, save as and FTP browse. This way it's only a click of a button away rather than going through the menus each time. I've done this as I use the FTP facility a fair bit too.

Cheers...

Frank

NewbieNewbie

Apr 03, 2007#3

fgeurts -

Thanks for the reply! Not exactly what I'm looking for, though. My project is literally linked to an FTP location.

This means I'm working on local files that UltraEdit knows where they are on an FTP server. So I can right-click a file in the project view and go "Upload to Server" and it will do so without me needing to tell it where on the server it needs to go.

There are two issues (and they're very minor):
        1. I have to right-click the file and tell it to upload every time. I want a shortcut to do this. I was surprised to see there's nothing in the macro or script support that does this.