Wordfile for KML

Wordfile for KML

NewbieNewbie

Jan 05, 2012#1

Hello,

I need a wordfile for the Google Earth KML format. KML files are XML files. I have no experience in writing wordfiles for syntax highlighting. I found the syntax tools macros, but do not know what to do with them.

I downloaded the official XSD files for this file format, but don't want to extract all tags manually. What must I do to create the wordfile? I found no tutorial to learn it.

Best regards
    tribun

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jan 07, 2012#2

Well, to create a wordfile you best start either with another, similar wordfile or use Template for syntax highlighting language wordfile.

I have attached a KML.uew for you created quickly using KML Reference. But I don't have read the reference. I just copied the element names and some attributes and verified the wordfile using animatedupdate_example.kml. You have to read the reference to determine if opening tag of an element can exist only as
      • <element </element> because this element always requires an attribute on start tag and requires always an end tag (like <kml);
      • <element> </element> because this element has always a start tag without attributes and requires always an end tag (as many elements);
      • <element <element> </element> because this element has a start tag which can but must not have attributes, but has always an end tag.
      Also it looks like some elements in the reference do not really exist in *.kml files like <AbstractView>. So you need to remove the strings <element> </element> from the wordfile for those elements which do not really exist in *.kml files.