Combining ASP and JavaScript (not VBScript)

Combining ASP and JavaScript (not VBScript)

NewbieNewbie

Apr 03, 2012#1

Hi,
    How do I set the editor to use JavaScript-driven ASP?

Thanks,
    -Russ

Grand MasterGrand Master

Apr 04, 2012#2

The problem is that I'm an expert in configuring syntax highlighting of UltraEdit. But I don't know anything about the structure of an ASP file. ASP files are usually multi-language files containing VBScript or Javascript, HTML, CSS, ... Without having an example code and knowing the tags used by applications parsing ASP files to determine which block is in which language, I can't help you setting up an appropriate syntax highlighting for *.ASP file with Javascript as base language.

I have explained basically the method used by UltraEdit to detect the blocks of different languages in HTML files with other languages embedded in topic Syntax highlighting between different languages.

Which *.uew file respectively syntax highlighting language should be associated with files with extension ASP and which other *.uew files should contain the other possible language marker strings as listed at Syntax Highlighting near the bottom depends on the structure of Javascript driven ASP files which I don't know.

NewbieNewbie

Apr 04, 2012#3

Thank you, that was more helpful.

ASP files are basically a combination of (VBScript & HTML) OR (JavaScript & HTML).

UE treats *.asp files as VBScript/HTML. ie. all VBScript syntax and HTML syntax is highlighted.

It seems that UE arbitrarily chose the VBScript/HTML combination to treat *.asp files instead of the JavaScript/HTML combination.

I was just wondering if there was an option to choose JavaScript/HTML for *.asp instead of the default VBScript/HTML. I figure since UE can do one, it could do the other.

-Russ

Grand MasterGrand Master

Apr 05, 2012#4