How to find lines in CSV file with less or more than X tabs within a line?

How to find lines in CSV file with less or more than X tabs within a line?

Jun 21, 2012#1

Hi

I am new to UltraEdit macros and I'm getting familiar with the syntax, but struggling to find a count like function?

I have a file containing 1.8 million records with 329 columns. The records in the file are all tab delimited.

Each record should have 328 tab delimiters, but I know some records contain more than this number.

I want a macro that will count the number of tab delimiters and locate me all the records that have more than 328 tab delimiters inside the record.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jun 21, 2012#2

There is no need for a macro. Just press Ctrl+F to open the Find dialog. Enter or copy/paste as string to find ^(?:.*?\t){329} and enable the option Regular Expressions: Perl.

Press button Advanced to open the advanced find options pane and make sure the Perl regular expression engine is selected as required. Check additionally the option List Lines Containing String. Run the Find with click on button Next.

A window opens listing all lines with at least 329 tab characters. You can copy this list to clipboard and paste it into a new file or double click on the listed lines to jump to this line for making corrections.

I tested the expression before posting with UE v18.10.0.1014 on a quickly created file with 4 lines with two lines having 5 tabs, one having 6 tabs and one having 7 tabs and using ^(?:.*?\t){6} The list contained the 2 lines with more than 5 tabs.

Explanation of the expression:

^ ... start every search at beginning of a line.