Find text & extract to new file

Find text & extract to new file

NewbieNewbie

Jul 17, 2012#1

Hi,

I'm total novice to ultraedit, macros, scripts etc.

I have lot of multiple GB csv files, ranging from 2-12GB, what I need to do is to find text, and extract lines which contain that text to new file and save it as custom file name

For example: find "English", extract/copy all lines, and paste them into new file called english.csv

I tried to do it with Search/Replace & "List line containing string", but it's so bloody slow. and when trying to copy few hundred thousands lines ultaedit hangs, and crashes from time to time

any help will be appreciated

MasterMaster

Jul 17, 2012#2

In my considered opinion, if this is something you are needing to do on any type of regular basis, then you need a specialized tool that does what you are asking. Not a text editor that has search capabilities. The editor would have to load the file. I personally think you would be best leaving the file on the drive, and allowing a stand-alone compiled program search line by line, placing those lines into a new file that it finds meeting the criteria.

This would require a relatively small amount of code, and is something that could be run from the command line or a batch file to repeat the process on a recurring basis, changing the text to search for each time as needed. Or perhaps better yet, a small Windows program that will ask for "text to search for", "file to search in", and "save as filename".

Nothing will be lightening fast on files that size, but a compiled program using C, C++, C#, or Object Pascal will give you the fastest possible solution for what you are looking for.

What you are trying to do is called "Data Mining". Data mining is best left up to optimized, specialized programs. UltraEdit was created to write such specialized programs, not to do the actual data mining.