Replacing xml codes within a block of text

Replacing xml codes within a block of text

NewbieNewbie

Oct 23, 2012#1

How do I select a block of text and do replaces on the xml only within the block.
    within the <contrib-group> I need to delete <name> replace <surname> with <SN>; </surname> with </SN>; <given-names> with <FN>; </given-names> with </FN>; <degrees> with <DEG>; </degrees> with </DEG>.
    These tags are also in another place in my file but I need to name them something else. I'm really new to this stuff and any help would be much appreciated.

Example of my data

<title-group>
    <article-title>Neoadjuvant Accelerated Concomitant Boost Radiotherapy and Multidrug Chemotherapy in Locally Advanced Rectal Cancer</article-title>
    <subtitle>A Dose-Escalation Study</subtitle>
    </title-group>
    <contrib-group>
    <contrib contrib-type="author">
    <name><surname>Caravatta</surname><given-names>Luciana</given-names>
    </name><degrees>MD</degrees>
    <xref ref-type="aff" rid="aff1">&#x002A;</xref>
    </contrib>
    <name><surname>Picardi</surname><given-names>Vincenzo</given-names>
    <xref ref-type="aff" rid="aff1">&#x002A;</xref>
    </contrib>
    </contrib-group>
    <aff id="aff1">Departments of <label>&#x002A;</label>Radiation Oncology</aff>
    <aff id="aff2"><label>&#x2020;</label>Palliative Therapies</aff>

Grand MasterGrand Master

Oct 23, 2012#2

There are several methods to make the replaces as you need.

The first one does not make any selections to run the replaces only on selected text. Instead it uses a tagged regular expression with UltraEdit engine to simple search for blocks

Code: Select all

<name><surname>Caravatta</surname><given-names>Luciana</given-names>
      and reformats such blocks to

<SN>Caravatta</SN><FN>Luciana</FN>
      <DEG>MD</DEG>
      The macro is:

InsertMode
      ColumnModeOff
      HexOff
      UltraEditReOn