Behavior of GotoBookMark command

Behavior of GotoBookMark command

NewbieNewbie

Dec 06, 2012#1

I am new to this software, but I was attempting to create a macro that would go to a bookmarked line and uncomment the line by removing a * from the beginning. When I use the GotoBookMark command it wants an index number that seems to be difficult to find. Does the bookmark index exist anywhere? I don't see it in the bookmark viewer. I think, I have determined that the index is in the order the bookmarks are created starting with 0.

The "GotoBookMark 0" command works as expected. When I use "GotoBookMark 1" I actually get either bookmark 0 or 1 as I cycle through the Play Again macro command. When I use "GotoBookMark 2" I actually get either bookmark 0 or 2 as I cycle through the Play Again macro command. It seems this GotoBookMark command wants to always cycle through bookmark 0. How to prevent this? I would like use GotoBookMark 2 and it always go to bookmark 2 and not cycle between 0 and 2.

Macro Code:
    OverStrikeMode
    ColumnModeOff
    HexOff
    GotoBookMark 2

Grand MasterGrand Master

Dec 06, 2012#2

The help of UltraEdit contains the page Edit Macro command which explains the command GotoBookMark as follows:

Parameter: Index of bookmark to jump to or -1 to go to next bookmark

Description: Jump to the next/specified bookmark. The indexes start with 0. If a user enters an index that is greater than the actual number of bookmarks then it is automatically directed to the first bookmark (index 0).

Well, this explanation is not complete and of course also no correct.

GotoBookMark -1 is like using Search - Bookmarks - Next Bookmark. That's easy.

When using a bookmark index the behavior is more difficult to understand.