Parsing of stderr

Parsing of stderr

NewbieNewbie

Aug 26, 2013#1

Hi,

I'm new to UEStudio and I am trying to integrate the COSMIC HCS12X compiler. Building works fine, exept of the parsing of the compiler outputs. I expect, that a double click on the outputs line with the error message takes me to the error in the corresponding file and to the wrong line, but it only takes me to the file, not to the line. This is a sample output:

Code: Select all

cxs12x -v -i "E:\COSMIC\EVAL12X\HS12x" +hcs +proto main.c
    #error cps12x main.c:40(2+4) klpo undefined
    main.c:
    "cps12x" -o "f:\TMP\s50c.cx1" -i "E:\COSMIC\EVAL12X\HS12x" -i "E:\COSMIC\EVAL12X\HS12X" -u -p -d"__VERS__=\"V4.7.11\"" "main.c"
    Clnk -m ETEST.map -o ETEST.h12 9s12xx128.lkf
    #error clnk 9s12xx128.lkf:17 can't open file main.o
    ETEST.h12 - 0 Fehler, 0 Warnung(en)
    Funny enough, if I click the line

it does what it should.

But if I click the line

it only opens the file main.c but does not move the cursor to line 40.

And what else is strange, is that at the bottom it says, that there were 0 Errors, 0 Warnings.

Any ideas?

Thank you
    Matmik

Grand MasterGrand Master

Aug 27, 2013#2

0 Errors, 0 Warnings is output from your compiler, see the line ETEST.h12 - 0 Fehler, 0 Warnung(en).

UEStudio does not write itself anything to the output window except you enable option Show build commands when executing in dialog window opened by clicking on Build - Advanced Build Options. With this option enabled you can see the called commands with all the options. You should enable this option to see in detail what is going on during a build process while developing the configuration for a new compiler.

Parsing an output line of a compiler is very difficult for an editor not written for a specific compiler output format. Usually warning/error lines of compilers start with one of the following information formats
      • file name(line number)
      • file name/line number