Find Command Stuck

Find Command Stuck

NewbieNewbie

Mar 01, 2014#1

Hello. I am a beginner with macros and ran into a problem. I was wondering if I am doing something wrong or if this is a bug.

What happens is, if I search for a keyword twice and there is only 1 of them in the document, subsequent Find commands will stop to function.

The actual macro I am using is bigger, but I can demonstrate what is happening with a very simple example:

Example Text:
    Hello John.
    Hello Ed.
    Hello Ed.

Example Macro 1:
    InsertMode
    ColumnModeOff
    HexOff
    UltraEditReOn
    Find "john"
    Find "john"
    Find "ed"

- Result: It will not be able to find the word Ed.

Example Macro 2:
    InsertMode
    ColumnModeOff
    HexOff
    UltraEditReOn
    Find "ed"
    Find "ed"
    Find "john"

- Result: This works fine, because there are 2 Eds. Now for something even more puzzling. I will select a piece of text (John) in stead of searching for it directly.

Example Macro 3:
    InsertMode
    ColumnModeOff
    HexOff
    UltraEditReOn
    Find "hello"
    Key RIGHT ARROW
    StartSelect
    Key Ctrl+RIGHT ARROW
    EndSelect
    Find "^s"
    Find "ed"

- Result: Again the Find command stops functioning. The only way to break out of it is by printing some text (and removing it).

Example Macro 4:
    InsertMode
    ColumnModeOff
    HexOff
    UltraEditReOn
    Find "hello"
    Key RIGHT ARROW
    StartSelect
    Key Ctrl+RIGHT ARROW
    EndSelect
    Find "^s"
    "X"
    Key BACKSPACE
    Find "ed"

- Result: This works fine again.

So can anyone explain to me what is happening? Thanks in advance.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Mar 02, 2014#2

Macro 1 and 2 do not work as expected with UE v21.00.0.1033 and v20.00.0.1056, but work with UE v19.10.0.1012 and previous versions.

Macro 3 fail in all version of UltraEdit with which I executed the macro, oldest was 11.20b.