In UltraEdit for Windows the command Revert to Saved
is always enabled which I have never noticed before.
The command is useless if active file is edited without usage of a temporary file as all changes are done directly and permanently on active file and no other application can modify this file while opened in UltraEdit because UltraEdit opens files without usage of a temporary file with SHARE DENY WRITE
This command is designed mainly for discarding all modifications by user applied to temporary file only and reload original file contents. But it is right that it can be also used to reload original file if modified by another application and file change detection feature is disabled or user as not reloaded the file on prompt or the file is not a local file and therefore file change detection is not running for this file like on an FTP file.
UltraEdit for Windows has the file change detection feature which is by default enabled and informs the user about a file change on original file while a copy of it (temporary file) is viewed/edited in UltraEdit. The configuration settings for this feature are at Advanced - Configuration - File Handling - File Change Detection
. There are also the configuration settings for usage of the extra feature File Polling
which can be enabled for an opened file like a log file in menu View
if this feature is enabled at all in configuration.
As I'm not using UEX, I don't know if UEX has also a file change detection feature and what are the default settings for this feature if UEX has this feature, too. Take a look into preferences of UEX.
Report this issue to IDM support by email (see top of the page) if you think that also in UEX this command should be always available even for not modified files.