Automatic brace matching doesn't appear to work (solved)

Automatic brace matching doesn't appear to work (solved)

NewbieNewbie

Mar 23, 2015#1

Greetings and salutations!

I'm just starting out with UltraEdit, so I apologize for my inexperience here. This may be a mind-numbingly easy question, but the solution escapes me.

I'm using UltraEdit Professional - Version 21.30.0.1024
    UE help wrote:UltraEdit will automatically highlight a matching bracket/brace if the match is in view when this cursor is positioned to the right or left of a bracket/brace. No screen positioning will be performed, the bracket/brace will only be highlighted if it is in view.
    I ensured that Enable auto-brace matching and Brace matching in comments are both checked in the Configuration options under Editor Display - Brace Matching.

But when I am cursoring through source code, it definitely does not highlight any matching bracket or brace unless I use Ctrl+B.

What am I missing?

Thanks for your help!
    DaveSlash

Grand MasterGrand Master

Mar 23, 2015#2

First, I suggest to open View - Themes - Manage Themes, select tab Editor and look on foreground and background color of list item Brace Highlight. Perhaps the colors are not good configured for the theme you use.

Second, brace highlighting works only for files syntax highlighting with a syntax highlighting language defined in a wordfile containing the lines:

Code: Select all

/Open Brace Strings = "{" "(" "["
      /Close Brace Strings = "}" ")" "]"
      You can verify that by opening a source file on which you want to see brace highlighting, then open Advanced - Configuration - Editor Display - Syntax Highlighting and click on button Open right to installed wordfiles list item hopefully showing a language name, close the dialog with Cancel and look on first line of the opened wordfile for those 2 lines.
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

NewbieNewbie

Mar 23, 2015#3