Syntax highlighting for brackets on HTML (and XML)?

Syntax highlighting for brackets on HTML (and XML)?

NewbieNewbie

Dec 03, 2015#1

Hello everybody!

I am new to UltraEdit and I am trying to modify the syntax highlighting and create a proper theme for me. The Monokai theme of Visual Studio Code makes code very easy to read (see attachment!) as it uses extra colors for BRACKETS. It's great, the special color for brackets emphasizes the tags, it optically removes the brackets from the tags. Also lists look much cleaner.

I couldn't find a possibility in UE to define a special color for brackets. Is it possible to create a theme in UE that looks exactly like the attachment?

Best wishes
    Fiorellino

Visual Studio 2015 (Monokai).png (60.14KiB)
    The Monokai theme of Visual Studio Code

Basic UserBasic User

Dec 03, 2015#2

That's going to be difficult. Syntax highlighting works through a combination of the language word file, in this case html.uew, that is used to specify classes of items and by choosing View->Themes->Manage Themes, picking your language and then setting the colour for a particular class.

So, you might think that you could just create a new class in the uew file:

/C4"Angle Brackets"
      < >

and then go and choose new colours for those in the manage themes dialog. However, I'm pretty sure that UE will pick the longest match when doing syntax highlighting so even though you have asked for less than and greater than brackets to be some custom colour, UE will find a better match and use that e.g.

<html class="no-js">

The C1"Tags" section of the uew file contains:

<html

That is a longer (and therefore better) match than just:

<

So UE will pick that in preference.

I'm not 100% sure on the above but it looks that way. Hopefully mofi can confirm or deny.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Dec 03, 2015#3

Explanation above written by netizensmith is absolutely right. But it is even more complicated for HTML (and XML).