Find & Replace dialog box is gone

Find & Replace dialog box is gone

NewbieNewbie

Apr 07, 2017#1

I've been using UltraEdit reliably now for a few years, but recently my Find & Replace dialog box has gone missing. If I click on the F&R menu button, nothing seems to happen and the normal F&R dialog box is not visible. Have I somehow changed the settings to suppress this? Any idea on how to get that window visible again?

Thanks all.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Apr 08, 2017#2

In case of Find and Replace window is docked on any side of UltraEdit main window and auto-hide feature is enabled for this window, look on the four sides of the main window for a tab with label Find and Replace and move mouse pointer over it to get the window displayed. The auto-hide feature can be toggled by clicking on pin symbol in title bar of Find and Replace view window. The docked window can be changed to a floating window by double clicking on a free area of the title bar of Find and Replace view window when auto-hide feature is not enabled as indicated by a vertically displayed pin symbol.

The position of the window is remembered by UltraEdit. I suppose it is opened outside currently visible screen area because last time it was moved by you on a second screen not available yet.

I suggest pressing Ctrl+R for opening the Replace window. Do the following for getting the floating Find and Replace window back into UltraEdit main window area:
      • On using UE in ribbon mode click on ribbon tab Layout in group Views on item Gather windows on right side of the ribbon tab.
      • On using UE in toolbar/menu mode with contemporary menus click in menu Layout on menu item Gather windows at bottom of the menu.
      • On using UE in toolbar/menu mode with traditional menus click in menu View in submenu Views/Lists on menu item Recover floating windows at bottom of the submenu.