How to quickly open project files by key instead of searching in project files list?

How to quickly open project files by key instead of searching in project files list?

Basic UserBasic User

Jun 04, 2017#1

Hello,
    I'm new to UES and I was wondering if it was possible to have some way to quickly open a file present in the current project.
    What I would like to do is start typing some letters and have UES find in the projects' files all of the files that could match.
    It is too cumbersome to browse the project tree and click on the file to open.
    Thanks for any advice.
    Jerome

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jun 05, 2017#2

There is the Quick Open feature which can be opened with
      • pressing Ctrl+Q or
      • clicking in menu File on menu item Quick Open on using Toolbar/menu mode with Traditional menus.
      This opens a dialog to search in directory of active file - and its subdirectories if the check box item Open all matching files from subdirectories is also checked - for files matching entered pattern like *.cpp or dlg* and open them. The file name pattern can contain also a relative or absolute path. For example when directory of active file is a subdirectory of the project, start the file name pattern with ..\.

The command Quick Open works independent on project settings. But I use it honestly most often to open files of a project directory (tree) quickly.

If anybody can find this command in ribbon mode or in toolbar/menu mode with contemporary menu please let me know. I can't find this command in those two GUI modes. Well, I use since years Ctrl+Q and therefore it is not important for me where this command is available for pointing devices. Update: IDM support confirmed that Quick Open command was by mistake not added to ribbon/contemporary menus interface.