Configuring Subversion

Configuring Subversion

NewbieNewbie

Mar 02, 2006#1

Hi, I'm a newbie and just purchased UEStudio as an upgrade from UltraEdit. I was very interested in the SVN (SubVersion) connection. Now, I'm having a hard time setting it up to work. I have an account that can "see" the repository (which is on my local machine) but can't figure out how to get the commit and other commands to work. Is there anything specific to SVN that I can look at?

Thanks in advance,

dh

NewbieNewbie

Mar 16, 2006#2

I've recently set my UEStudio SVN connection up and I ahve to admit was a little confused to begin with.

I too could see the repository and tried (as you would with other SVN shells) to populate my project area using the Update command.

After you have a default account setup for your repository, restart your computer. I'm not sure what problem I had but when I re-opened UES I was then able to open the "project settings/Version control module manager/checkout" and generate a module list (top level directories form SVN) from which I could then Checkout directories in the Project.

I think it's a bit confusing to use the 'checkout' command as most other SVN shells use the Update comand. A little strange I know but once you get you SVN status indicators showing in your project browser your ready to roll.

HTH :D

NewbieNewbie

Mar 27, 2006#3

You might want to take a look at TortoiseSVN and install that on your PC.

Given that it's written by or at least directly hosted on the same server by the same people that write subVersion itself it's well worth the time.

I must admit I don't recognise "update" as a SVN command at all so I'm a bit confused as to why you would think it's the norm...