How to link up all files under a folder?

How to link up all files under a folder?

NewbieNewbie

Jan 05, 2007#1

Hi All:

I have a folder which has many html files, and their file names are ordered(start from 0001.htm to 0099.htm). Now i want to add navigation link to these files, that is, if I'm reading page 0002.htm, I can goto page 0003.htm by click Next button, and goto page 0001.htm by clicking prev button. However, currently there's no such button(link) in these files.

More clrearly, I want to replace every </body> with this string:

<a href=%previous file path> Prev </a> <a href=%next file path> Next </a> </body>

If the file we're handling is 0003.htm, then %previous file path should be replaced by 0002.htm, the %next file path should be replaced by 0004.htm.

I'm new to macro, can anybody help me? Thanks a lot!

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jan 05, 2007#2

I have an idea how to code the macro which would do the job. But I must know which version of UltraEdit or UEStudio you currently use because the macro requires the command FindInFiles and the usage of this command depends on the version of UE/UES.
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

NewbieNewbie

Jan 05, 2007#3

The version of UltraEdit which I'm using is 11.20a. Thanks in advance!

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jan 06, 2007#4

Okay, here is the macro which should to the job.

The macro uses the command FindInFiles with an empty search string to get a list of the HTML files in a results edit window. You must adapt the red highlighted path to your local path where you have the HTML files.

The problem with FindInFiles with results to an edit window is that the macro continues before all results are written to the new edit window, the edit window has the focus and the cursor is at bottom of the edit window.

A workaround for this problem is to use a loop which searches in all open files for the last search result line which is immediately deleted, when found.