Selecting a block (range) to the end of file in macro

Selecting a block (range) to the end of file in macro

NewbieNewbie

Mar 14, 2007#1

I am new to UltraEdit. I think I am missing something simple. I am trying to select a specified range (start on Line 1, Column 21-24) on every line in a file, regardless of text, and Copy it to another place in the file. I can't find the command to go to the end of the file without losing the selection. Here is my macro section.

InsertMode
    ColumnModeOn
    HexOff
    UnixReOn
    GotoLine 1 21
    Key SHIFT
    Key RIGHT ARROW
    Key RIGHT ARROW
    Key RIGHT ARROW

Any help would be great as this is the last piece I need to complete a larger macro. Thanks.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Mar 14, 2007#2

When working with selections in column mode it is normally better to temporarily delete all blanks lines at bottom of the file, so the last line of the file has no line termination and Bottom or SelectToBottom moves the cursor to end of content of last line with content.

However, in your case it is better to select from last line of the file column 25 to first line of the file column 21.

Please note: The first versions of UE/UES supporting GotoLine with a column number have a bug. If the file is an ASCII file and not a Unicode file, and GotoLine or GotoLineSelect is used with line number 1 or at line 1, the cursor is always positioned to specified column number + 1 (BOM of Unicode files also taken into consideration for ASCII/ANSI files).

To solve this problem I always insert at top of the file an empty line and delete it when I don't need it anymore when I'm using the GotoLine or GotoLineSelect with a column number at first line. The following macro contains the same workaround. So delete the inserted blank line at top of the file, if you don't need it anymore and no selection is active with command DeleteLine.