"Offset" for line numbers?

"Offset" for line numbers?

NewbieNewbie

Sep 18, 2007#1

Hi.

I'm a MUMPS programmer and often errors are thrown at me in a format like this: <SYNTAX>PTWNDW^cROU123+4. That means I have to look here:

Code: Select all

55  ;
    56 PTWNDW(DX,DY,ABC) ; foo
    57  N A,B,C
    58  Q:ABC="" "bar"
    59  S A=42
    60  S B=A+(DX*C                                 <--- (56+4=60)
    61  ...
    Okay, actually 56+4 is quite easy to solve, but sometimes a routine starts at line 137 and errors occur at +73, +119 and so on, and finding them gets quite annoying. It would be nice to add an temporary offset to line numbers like this

Code: Select all

--  Q ERR
    --  ;-
     0 PTWNDW(DX,DY,ABC) ; foo
     1  N A,B,C
     2  Q:ABC="" "bar"
     3  S A=42
     4  S B=A+(DX*C                                 <--- (0+4=4)
     5  ...
    Is this possible?

Edit: I'm using UEStudio '06, but I'm sure its more a question concerning the underlying editor.

TIA

Z.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Sep 18, 2007#2

There is no option for relative line numbers. I have following ideas:

Go to start of the routine with the error, press Ctrl+Shift+Home to select everything to top of the file and then Ctrl+X to cut it. Now goto the line with the error and correct it, Press Ctrl+Home and then paste back with Ctrl+V the top of the file.

Go to start of the routine with the error, activate the column mode with Alt+C, press key Shift and hold it why you move the cursor down with key DOWN ARROW to end of the routine. Press now the hotkey for Column - Insert Number to insert in the select lines an increasing number starting with 0. Go to the line with the error, press Ctrl+Z to undo the inserting of the numbers and press Alt+C to switch back to normal edit mode and now you can correct the error.