Syntax Highlighting in Search Result Window

Syntax Highlighting in Search Result Window

NewbieNewbie

Sep 19, 2007#1

I use UltraEdit to go through log files of my applications, which can be 10s of MBs large. A search on such a large file can result in thousands of entries in the Search Result Window. It will be a lot easier to go through these entries of interest if syntax highlighting is also available in the Search Result Window.

I have put a feature request for syntax highlighting in Search Result Window. I received a prompt reply saying that it may be considered for a future release.

This is open for all to comment.

Grand MasterGrand Master

Sep 21, 2007#2

Although it is a good idea, which "window" do you mean: the output "window" normally at bottom of the UltraEdit window or the "List lines containing find string:" "window"?

I'm not a Windows programmer, but I know that both are not real windows like a document window. And I know that there are big differences between a document window object, a list view object (= output window) and a resizeable dialog object (= list lines...). I have never seen a program which has displayed colored text in a list view or a multi-line area in a dialog.

Maybe what I have written here is nonsense, but I would not be too optimistic to get syntax highlighting ever for search results in one of these 2 "windows".

If you mean the document window ** Find Results ** created when running a Find In Files with output to an edit window then you can already syntax highlight it. Just use View - View As (Highlighting File Type) - ???. Since UES v6.10 and UE v12.20 at Configuration - Editor Display - Syntax Highlighting the setting Highlight new files as can be used to define a syntax highlighting language for new files which is used also for the ** Find Results ** document window. Users with an older version of UE/UES could use the default syntax highlighting feature described at syntax highlighting on a new file.