Adding unique client id to over 950,000 names Help!

Adding unique client id to over 950,000 names Help!

NewbieNewbie

Oct 30, 2007#1

I'm new to this so I need help from those that know what they are talking about. I need to add a field to my mailing list database with a unique client id for each line. I could input it manually but you see the problem as there are over 950,000 names and the lists will only get bigger. I want it to start with a letter and a random number after. doesn't have to be very long but they all have to be different. Thanks.

MasterMaster

Oct 30, 2007#2

I guess you could do something like that with a script. But I'd also suppose that this script would have serious performance issues since it must check each new random number against all previously used ones.

The fastest way, I think, would be to use a hash function (as long as the 950.000 lines themselves are all different). I haven't checked, but probably UE's script engine doesn't provide one of those. In Python, the whole thing could be done in three lines:

Code: Select all

output=open("output.csv","w")
      for line in open("input.csv","r"):
         output.write(hex(hash(line)+2147483648)[2:].rstrip("L")+","+line)

(doesn't necessarily start with a letter, though. Which one would you like?)

Just as an idea...
      Tim

NewbieNewbie

Oct 30, 2007#3

Thanks for the input I wanted to start with A i guess. Start from the beginning is best.

MasterMaster

Oct 30, 2007#4

I agree that a script could do it but with slow performance.

As I read it it's not vital that the client id is random as long as it is unique. So I think a fast solution could use a combination of search/replace with regular expression and Mofis CountUp Macro.