HTML toolbar commands versus templates

HTML toolbar commands versus templates

NewbieNewbie

Oct 18, 2008#1

Hello,
    I'm trying out the latest version of UltraEdit. So far, I like it. I have a question about the HTML toolbar features, particularly the HTML User Commands. Here's what I'd like to do:
    By clicking the corresponding button, I want to insert a chunk of code. I'm an ASP programmer so it might look like this:

Code: Select all

with response
         .write "|"
    end with
    Easy, and I've made this work no problem. My question is: Can I also assign hotkeys to this button so I don't have to click, I just press the corresponding keys, say ctrl-shift-r ?

Maybe there is some other feature in UltraEdit that works similarly that I've overlooked???

If I can get this to work, I'd gladly pay for this program. Your responses are much appreciated!

Grand MasterGrand Master

Oct 19, 2008#2

It is not possible to assign a hotkey or a chord (fast typed sequence of keys) to a HTML toolbar user command, only to the standard HTML toolbar commands. But you can use templates. Templates are very similar to the HTML toolbar commands.

The differences are:
      1. Templates are stored in a binary file instead of uedit32.ini (or registry). But all templates in the template file are automatically loaded when starting of UltraEdit like the HTML toolbar commands. Changing the directory for the template file gives the possibility to quickly selected a different list of templates for example for a completely other project.
      2. The character used for marking the cursor position is different. In templates the character ^ must be used while in HTML toolbar commands the character | must be used to mark the cursor position or the position where the selected text should appear after inserting the template or HTML toolbar command.