How to build a symbol database for labels in assembler files?

How to build a symbol database for labels in assembler files?

Basic UserBasic User

Jul 16, 2009#1

Hi
    I'm a newb

I want to do a find in files of the selected text added a ":" in the end, then navigate to the first found file:
    This is to find a specific label in some assembler code.

My initial macro is like this:

Code: Select all

InsertMode
    ColumnModeOff
    HexOff
    IfSel
    FindInFiles "" "" "^s:"
    Else
    SelectWord
    IfSel
    FindInFiles "" "" "^s:"
    EndIf
    EndIf
    1) I do not know why the extra "" "" are inserted, but the macro editor does it when I save.
    2) The macro now does make the search, but the output is guided to the editor instead of the output window. It would be nice to have it go to the output window.
    3) I have no clue on how to get the editor to open the found file and line number.

I hope you can help
    rgds
    Cyrex

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jul 17, 2009#2

In your FindInFiles command it is not specified where to search. You have not posted which version of UltraEdit you use and therefore can't tell you if this is a known bug of the macro recorder or not.

Correct would be something like:

InsertMode
      ColumnModeOff
      HexOff
      IfSel
      FindInFiles OutputWin OpenFiles "" "" "^s:"
      Else
      SelectWord
      IfSel
      FindInFiles OutputWin OpenFiles "" "" "^s:"
      EndIf
      EndIf

or

InsertMode
      ColumnModeOff
      HexOff
      IfSel
      FindInFiles OutputWin "C:\Temp\" "*.asm" "^s:"
      Else
      SelectWord
      IfSel
      FindInFiles OutputWin "C:\Temp\" "*.asm" "^s:"
      EndIf
      EndIf