Inserting an incrementing number on every line of a block

Inserting an incrementing number on every line of a block

NewbieNewbie

Sep 08, 2009#1

I am very new to UltraEdit and though I have read the examples and post on incrementing by 1, I still need some help. The following is an example of my file and what I want it to look like. These files have hundreds of lines.

Code: Select all

ADD FRDCIVL/UBA-CVL_WRK
    ADD FRDCIVL/UMA-CVL_WRK
    ADD FRDELEC/UBA-ELC_WRK
    ADD FRDELEC/UMA-ELC_WRK
    ADD FRDHVAC/UBA-HVC_WRK
    ADD FRDHVAC/UMA-HVC_WRK
    ADD FRDMISC/UBA-MSC_WRK
    What I need is:

ADD FRDCIVL/UBA-CVL_WRK 50
    ADD FRDCIVL/UMA-CVL_WRK 51
    ADD FRDELEC/UBA-ELC_WRK 52
    ADD FRDELEC/UMA-ELC_WRK 53
    ADD FRDHVAC/UBA-HVC_WRK 54
    ADD FRDHVAC/UMA-HVC_WRK 55
    ADD FRDMISC/UBA-MSC_WRK 56
    ... and so on.
    Any help would be appreciated.

I am running Xp SP2 and UltraEdit-32

Grand MasterGrand Master

Sep 09, 2009#2

Your lines have the same length. So you don't need a macro for inserting an incrementing number.
      • Just enable Column - Column Mode (hotkey Alt+C),
      • set the cursor at end of the first line and press SPACE,
      • hold SHIFT and use the keys PAGE DOWN and/or DOWN ARROW to select this column on the lines where an incrementing number should be appended,
      • execute Column - Insert Number with First Number set to 50,
      • turn off column mode editing by clicking again on Column - Column Mode or using Alt+C.
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

MasterMaster

Sep 09, 2009#3

Just a small addition:
        If the lines were NOT all in the same length, do what Mofi said at the rightmost position you want and then do a regular perl regular expression replace:

[ \t]+([0-9]+)
        with:

$1
        (blank dollar one)

This kicks off all spaces/tabs before the numbers except one space, assuming you dont have a blank followed by a number at the beginning of a line.

rds Bego