Use a spell check dictionary from Word?

Use a spell check dictionary from Word?

NewbieNewbie

Jan 13, 2010#1

Is it possible to use an existing spellcheck dictionary that I have been building up in Word 2003 for many years?

I am thinking about migrating away from Office/Word to UltraEdit as all my work is text based. So I need a text editor that will allow me to use my existing spellcheck dictionary (and also provide other features such as macros).

Thanks
    Andy

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jan 13, 2010#2

I did not have a custom dictionary of Word (Office). So I used my Word 2007 and added some proper names to the user dictionary and looked on the file %appdata%\Microsoft\UProof\Custom.dic into which the words were saved by MS Word 2007. It was simply a Unicode encoded text file with 1 word per line using DOS line terminators which I could simply open in UltraEdit.

I run the spell checker of UltraEdit - it is Aspell - and added those words to the default users dictionary because I also did not have a custom Aspell dictionary. Next I opened the 2 files en.prepl and en.pws created by Aspell in the configured personal data directory.

The file en.prepl contained only the line

personal_repl-1.1 en 0

The file en.pws contained as first line

personal_ws-1.1 en x

and below this line the words with 1 word per line. x at top of the file was the number of words which is simply the number of lines minus 2 when the cursor is at bottom of the file. The 2 files were ANSI files using DOS line terminators.

According to this simple and quick test it should be no problem to convert a users dictionary of MS Office to an Aspell users dictionary.

Maybe you can find somewhere else more information on how to convert a MS Office dictionary to an Aspell dictionary. But if your dictionary is as simple as the one I quickly created with Word 2007, the conversion is really very simple.
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

NewbieNewbie

Jan 13, 2010#3