User to user discussion and support for UltraEdit, UEStudio, UltraCompare, and other IDM applications.

Building, compiling, or debugging issues
4 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone!

I'm new to UEStudio, I really like it, unfortunately my knowledge about it is little. I wanted to use it to compile programs to atmega, instead of avrstudio. So I need help on how to configure to use, compile, debug. Any help is welcome.

regards
UEStudio is installed with a WinAVR application configuration which you can use for your applications. Just use the WinAVR compiler for your project and set the compiler options to your needs. You may need to adapt the compiler configuration template by making a local copy and edit some lines in the compiler configuration.

Debugging could be very difficult if not at all completely impossible from within UEStudio because debugging ATMega chips is in-circuit debugging and as far as I know there is no stand-alone debugger available for the ATMega series. So for debugging you might need to use AVRStudio.

Programming the ATMega after successful compilation can be done surely from within UEStudio. How depends on the hardware and tools you use.

Years ago before UEStudio was released the first time I created with UltraEdit a project for coding a program with finally 1500 lines for the Atmel AtMega8515 and AT90S8515 controllers using ICC AVR compiler. After reading the manuals it was no problem for me to setup project tools for compiling the application for both controllers from within UE and and to write the 2 scripts to program the application into the 2 controllers using PonyProg from within UE. I did not need debugging. Nowadays I would use UEStudio, WinAVR and AVRDude, but did not need to write code for ATMega controllers in the last years and therefore have not setup an appropriate configuration in UEStudio.
Best regards from Austria
Hi again!