Find and replace window - default options and using keyboard shortcuts

Find and replace window - default options and using keyboard shortcuts

Basic UserBasic User

Sep 02, 2021#1

I'm new to this latest version of UltraEdit, so please forgive the newbie questions. I have a couple questions about the search function in UE v28.10.
    1. When I want to find something I very rarely don't utilize some options of some kind. Currently I have to hit Ctrl+F twice to get the Find and Replace window to show up. Is there a way to set it where the default is the full floating window and not the slim box?
    2. When I use search and replace I'm accustomed to using keyboard shortcuts with the search box. I see the letter 'R' is underlined yet, I cannot select that from the keyboard by hitting "Alt+R". I've made sure that the window has the focus, but that doesn't seem to make a difference.
    I just found the answer to #2, uncheck the box "Set focus to edit window after any Find operation" in configuration. It appears that if that is checked, it doesn't matter if you go back and click on the find and replace window, you can't use the keyboard shortcuts.  That option effectively disables keyboard shortcuts in the search box, it seems?

Your help is much appreciated. Thank you!

MasterMaster

Sep 02, 2021#2

Hi Matt,

you can set one hotkey for QuickFind and another one for Find. For example I am using
      Ctrl + Shift + I      Quick find
      Ctrl + F                  Find

More detailed information is here

BR, Fleggy

Grand MasterGrand Master

Sep 02, 2021#3

Please  read the sticky topic Quick Find versus Find and how to customize the usage of both (Ctrl+F behavior) of the forum Find/Replace/Regular Expressions.