Find/Replace one Value with another

Find/Replace one Value with another

NewbieNewbie

Jun 08, 2023#1

Hello,

I am a super novice user with UltraEdit and currently am on Version UltraEdit Text/Hex Editor (x64) Version 24.20.0.51

I have files where I need to search a specific column for a value and replace it with another value.
    I could use a macro but I would like to have a script for this as I am also splitting the file using a script - if i can incorporate them into one script it will be less confusing for users i need to share with.

Example:  in the 123 byte/column there is a value of 'Z' - I need to check the entire column and replace any 'Z' with a space " ".

I have tried searching the boards and have found similar functions but nothing that I am able to fully understand or see that it is actually checking for a specific column or group of columns.

Can you advise on how I can do this?
    Thanks in advance :)
    Replace Value Z.PNG (4.03KiB)

Grand MasterGrand Master

Jun 09, 2023#2

There are two possible solutions to replace the character Z by a space after the first 122 characters in a line.

The first solution uses the replace in column feature.

Code: Select all

if (UltraEdit.document.length > 0)  // Is any file opened?
      {
         // Define environment for this script.
         UltraEdit.insertMode();
         // The first line is for UE/UES for Windows and the second line for UE for Linux/Mac.
         if (typeof(UltraEdit.columnModeOff) == "function") UltraEdit.columnModeOff();
         else if (typeof(UltraEdit.activeDocument.columnModeOff) == "function") UltraEdit.activeDocument.columnModeOff();

// Move caret to top of the active file.
         UltraEdit.activeDocument.top();

// Define the parameters for a case-sensitive replace in column 123 only using
         // a non-regular expression replace all and run the replace on entire file.
         UltraEdit.ueReOn();
         UltraEdit.activeDocument.findReplace.mode=0;