How to make UltraEdit to prompt for saving unsaved files when Exit?

How to make UltraEdit to prompt for saving unsaved files when Exit?

7
NewbieNewbie
7

    Sep 15, 2020#1

    Hi,

    The old version of Ultraedit will always prompt to save unsaved files. But the new version will just keep all the unsaved file as it is, without a prompt, when I exit. It is easy to make a lot of "Edit##" files. So I wonder if there is a way to enable the old feature of UltraEdit again.

    6,636551
    Grand MasterGrand Master
    6,636551

      Sep 15, 2020#2

      You could open Advanced - Settings or Configuration - File handling - Session options and uncheck the settings to remember and reload unsaved changes to unsaved "Edit" files.

      You could also uncheck the setting to remember and reload unsaved changes to FTP files and to saved files to get prompted on UltraEdit exit for saving modified files which are already existing on storage media with a real file name.
      Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

      7
      NewbieNewbie
      7

        Sep 15, 2020#3

        Hi,

        Thank you. Is there a way to auto-save all changes to the named files when exit?

        6,636551
        Grand MasterGrand Master
        6,636551

          Sep 16, 2020#4

          There is no configuration setting available in UltraEdit for Windows v27.10 to automatically save all named files. This must be done manually with executing command Save all which of course results in prompting the user for the file names of all unnamed files.

          However, it is possible to check the setting Discard unsaved "Edit" files with no prompt on application close after having unchecked setting Remember and reload unsaved changes to unsaved "Edit" files. Then UltraEdit prompts on exit for saving all modified files with also unchecked setting Remember and reload unsaved changes to saved files. All named files are saved and the unnamed files are discarded without any further prompts on clicking next on Yes to all or hitting either RETURN or ENTER. So it is possible now to save all named files with one hit on RETURN or ENTER and get all unnamed files discarded without a prompt on exit of UltraEdit in comparison to UltraEdit < v25.20 without the Session options.

          You could request an enhancement by email to IDM support for an additional setting in Session options to save all named files automatically on exit to avoid one prompt with pressing once RETURN or ENTER or clicking once on Yes to all or just Yes on exit of UltraEdit. There would be enough space in the Session options configuration window for such an additional setting.
          Best regards from an UC/UE/UES for Windows user from Austria

          7
          NewbieNewbie
          7

            Sep 16, 2020#5

            Thank you very much.