MAXScript support in UltraEdit

MAXScript support in UltraEdit

NewbieNewbie

Jan 28, 2023#1

Hello!

This is my first post here and I hope this is the right place to share some stuff.
    I am a 3D artist and my primary software for work is Autodesk 3ds Max. 
    I started learning MAXScript a long time ago with the aim of expanding the possibilities of the existing tools in the program itself.
    The MAXScript enthusiasts have created an excellent community which is similar to this one, where you can share freely new ideas and knowledge. 
    A few years ago 3ds Max added support for Python but MAXScript is still most used language.

For those who are not familiar, MAXScript is the built-in scripting language for 3ds Max and with it you can:
    • Control 3ds Max interactively through a command-line shell window and integrated MAXScript Editor which supports both MAXScript and Python.
    • Build custom import/export tools using the built-in file I/O or .NET, also batch-processing tools, such as batch-rendering scripts.
    • Write procedural controllers that can access the entire state of the scene, also different type of tools for modeling, animation, materials, rendering, VFX and so on.
    • Great support for third-party plugins
    All in all, the MAXScript language is specifically designed to complement 3ds Max. It is object-oriented, and has several special features and constructs that mirror high-level concepts in the 3ds Max user interface. These include coordinate-system contexts, an animation mode with automatic keyframing, and access to scene objects using hierarchical path names that match the 3ds Max object hierarchy.
    The syntax is simple enough (no case-sensitive) for non-programmers to use, with minimal punctuation and formatting rules.