Out of Virtual Memory?

Out of Virtual Memory?

NewbieNewbie

Feb 26, 2013#1

I just updated to UC 8.50.0.1017 on my windows 7 Pro machine this morning, and I'm suddenly seeing random "Out of virtual memory! This comparison will be aborted" messages. Sometimes it will work uneventfully, a lot it won't. I've tried it going directly into the program from the start menu as well as a right click and loading the files that way, doesn't seem to matter.

I've been using UC and UE for many years now, and this is a new error message. I don't get it with any other programs at all on this machine, so I'm inclined to believe it is a result of this upgrade.

Anyone else seeing this or have a fix?

TIA

elaine
    Ivy, VA

Grand MasterGrand Master

Feb 27, 2013#2

According to what you wrote it looks like that this is indeed an issue of new version of UC.

But you should verify it by looking in Windows task manager how much free RAM you have on starting UC and how much free RAM is available after a compare which fails.

Also when have you last time used the Windows disk cleanup tool in Accessories - System Tools to clean the folder for temporary files (and other files and folders which can be safely deleted)?

You can clean the folders for temporary files also manually by
      • restarting Windows to make sure that any silent security update, installation or uninstallation process with files currently in temporary files folder can finish,
      • enter in address bar of Windows Explorer %TEMP% and hit key RETURN to open this folder (temporary files folder of the current user acccount),
      • delete with Ctrl+A and Shift+Del all files and subdirectories in this folder with ignoring the temporary files currently opened by running applications which cannot be deleted,
      • enter in address bar of Windows Explorer %windir%\Temp and hit key RETURN to open this folder (temporary files folder of the system acccount),