Script to loop through all open files and output their file names with path enclosed in double quotes into a new file

Script to loop through all open files and output their file names with path enclosed in double quotes into a new file

Basic UserBasic User

Feb 14, 2018#1

I have written a script to copy the full path and file name to the clipboard and put a double quote before and after it, and that works fine. I tried to extend the script to loop through all open files, quoting the file path as before, and pasting the results into a new blank document. So far, all I've accomplished is that the new blank document opens.

Unfortunately, although I am a programmer (primarily Oracle PL/SQL), I know nothing about JavaScript, so I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Any suggestions? Would it help for me to put what I have tried?

Thanks,
    Dan

MasterMaster

Feb 14, 2018#2

Something like this?

Code: Select all

var n = UltraEdit.document.length
      var files = "";
      for (i=0;i<n;i++)
      {
        files = files + '"'+UltraEdit.document[i].path + '"'+";"
      }
      files = files.substr(files,files.length-1).replace(/;/g,"\r\n");
      UltraEdit.newFile();
      UltraEdit.activeDocument.write(files);
      It's impossible to lead us astray for we don't care even to choose the way.

Basic UserBasic User

Feb 14, 2018#3

Perfect! I hadn't considered saving all the values into one variable and then just writing it all out at once. I was trying to write each file one at a time.

Thanks!

Feb 14, 2018#4

After playing around with it a bit, I simplified and shortened it up a little. This version leaves a blank line at the end of the new file with all the file names listed, but that's good for my purposes.

var files = "";
          for (i=0; i<n; i++)
          {
            UltraEdit.document[i].setActive();
            files = files + '"'+UltraEdit.activeDocument.path + '"\n'
          }
          UltraEdit.newFile();
          Thanks again!

MasterMaster